Buying first bike

Discussion area for Newer Riders and LAM's bikes including the Ninja 250

Moderator: Six Addict

Buying first bike

Postby Basslover » Mon Apr 09, 2012 11:57 am

Hey Guys.

Im new to the riding scene and am looking at buying my first bike!!!

I have been lookng at the Ninja 250r just wondering if this is a good starter bike. i have also been told to buy a naked bike as i will drop it a few times is this correct or should i ignore that advice.

Thanks guys (also any suggestions on different starter bikes are more then welcome.)

Cheers
Basslover

Bike: Don't have one
State: Queensland

Re: Buying first bike

Postby mick_dundee » Mon Apr 09, 2012 12:52 pm

Your first bike you are bound to drop a few times, it's part of the learning curve, I certainly wouldn't be looking at a brand new bike if I was in your shoes but that's your call. Ninja 250r not a bad bike to start out on, if you really want a faired bike something like a ZZR or GSX/GPZ 250 would be my recommendation (assuming you want a 250) both have been around for ever, plenty out there and plenty of spares available.
A good mate will bail you out of jail, a true mate will be sitting in the cell next to you saying "Damn, we fucked up!!!"
mick_dundee
Team Naked
Team Naked

Bike: Suzuki
State: Victoria

Postby GPZ_Jim » Mon Apr 09, 2012 12:59 pm

Ninja twofiddy is a great starter bike but don't go past the gpx and zzr 250s which all share the same engine :) depends on how important shiny and new is to ya! :) naked bikes generally do handle falling over easier, have a look around for ER5s very dependable and capable of going well beyond 100000km also ER6n has many fans its a relative newcomer on the scene but be prepared for a big purchase price even for 2nd hand ones, heaps of options for ya to ponder!

If you do go for a new ninja 250 consider getting crash knobs put on which can save ya from costly reapirs in a whoopsie, and lastly leave enough $$ for proper riding gear :kuda:
GPZ_Jim