Caught out...nearly first off

Discussion area for Newer Riders and LAM's bikes including the Ninja 250

Moderator: Six Addict

Caught out...nearly first off

Postby Trox » Sat May 07, 2011 10:14 pm

Got back from work today about 430pm, thought I'd go for a short ride (I've done this little course a few times now, those that know the area, cordeaux, up mount keira Rd, accross and down Mt Kembla Rd then home), anyway coming down Mt Kembla took a left corner, recollected the road wrong, thought it was a straight out of the corner but went to a right turn :o . At this point I'm not experienced enough to transition that well and was going too quick to be able to transition without going wide....well going wide off the narrow road u r straight in to leaves and grass and about another metre at the most is a rolling drop with trees immediately, needless to say my thoughts at this point :shock: I tried to in the transition apply as much brake as I could before having to begin the RH corner as a result I was late in cornering and still going to quick, as i knew there was grass a leaves figured it would be extra slippery so thought I would try a get a little more upright...no good, end up running wider (on to the leaves and grass), in a fluster applied brakes again (lightly)....another bad idea, it was at this point that I had lost a lot of control of my bike, it was sliding just about to hit the deck...natural reaction was to throw my right leg out to stop me from falling, I think lucky it didn't snap and actually helped me up, now back end sliding all over the place.....ah sudden realisation my foot is back on the brake, release, no more slide action, take off, wonder what the people in the car behind me thought of the whole thing :D

Lessons Learnt (experienced please correct me);