newb and i have questions:D

Discussion area for Newer Riders and LAM's bikes including the Ninja 250

Moderator: Six Addict

newb and i have questions:D

Postby UR510 » Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:02 pm

hey guys, im new to all this bike thing and i recently got the Ninja zx250r grey import , moel 1995 and i had a look at the coolant levels of the bike the other day and it was brown!!!...i dont think it is surpose to be that colour???.. would it matter if i just leave it like that because the bike isnt overheating at all?? would it be hard to drain the coolant myself and top it up ??

is there ride days for L Platers like me by any chance????

oh by the way im loving riding :D its the best thing feeling:D and sorry about all the questions guys

cheers guys

Daniel
UR510

Bike: Don't have one
State: New South Wales

Re: newb and i have questions:D

Postby Richo » Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:07 pm

I think coolant is A-typically green ... brown would indicate RUST? ... ie, previous owner has been putting just tap water in there ... not a good sign and a lower boiling point. (you may have been getting away with this due to cold weather) ... however, I could be wrong ... :roll: Still learning here myself.

Id be flushing it and putting the green shit in.

As far as rides go, depends on where ya is dude! .. check out the rides n get together link in the forum for your nearest ride retailer 8) Learners are always welcome!! (makes us old farts look good ... for a short time anyway)
2004 ZRX1200R
And on the seventh day Richo ended his work which he had made. Decided resting was for soft cox, straddled the REX and headed up the old road.
And it was good
Richo
Team Chainsaw
Team Chainsaw

Bike: ZRX

Postby zx6rider » Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:09 pm

There are some coolants that are brown and some that are green, so it is possible you could have brown coolant, the old man has a SS that runs brown coolant, on the other hand it could be dirty as hell to, if its dirty you should be able to tell.