Buying a neglected GPz1100 B1

All GPx and GPz Models

Buying a neglected GPz1100 B1

Postby OldDog » Mon Feb 29, 2016 1:04 pm

Gday Everyone, I'm a newbie here, names Bill but most just call me OD. I'm a long term Kwaka nut, have a ZX14R in the shed, and have had quite a few from z1000's to GPz900s and ZX12's over the years. And have modified them pretty seriously at times too. I live out in the Cobar region where we have plenty of straight flat roads ...

I also do a bit of charity ride stuff as well, I do the Scrapheap Adventure ride most years, which is for Downs Syndrome NSW, the idea is to pick up a bike for under a grand, get sponsored to ride it to where ever the meeting is, usually a difficult and remote spot. This year is at Tilpa. I've found a GPz1100B1 in fairly ordinary condition, they guy wants a grand for it, i'll post up pics when I figure that out. Its still got the injection and looks complete. Trouble is its been outside for the last few years and had the sparkplug out of #4 cylinder. The engine feels seized but I'm hoping that's just from a little water getting in that open plug hole. From memory the GPz doesn't have any fancy bore linings etc to go wrong so a quick hone might be all that's needed.

Before I put down the dough though I thought I'd ask if anyone can give me some advice on what to look for. Are there any major faults that you just can't get parts for that would make this a million dollar rebuild? I'm in the middle of building a turboed CBX1000 so money is pretty tight for this project.
The injection has me baffled. I was planning to dump it until I read some of Gos's comments, so it may stay yet. How reliable is it though? I mean I don't want to get stuck out along the Darling river on some lonely bulldusty crap track with a bike I can't fix.
Fuel pumps, how hard are they to find? Or would it be simpler to just pull all this stuff out and run a set of carbs and pod filters?