B1 gpz1100 project

All GPx and GPz Models

B1 gpz1100 project

Postby CATdoctor » Mon May 13, 2013 9:39 pm

G'day,

I am about to start my first ground up rebuild of my newly purchased 1981 gpz 1100 and I plan on liaising with you guys a fair bit along the way as well as posting up pics as I go. I am a diesel fitter by trade so I confident swinging spanners and with auto electrics, but being only 30 I am severely lacking in knowledge about these bikes which is where I was hoping you fine gentlemen would come in. I have only just taken the fairings off so far, replaced the battery, drained and cleaned carbs, drained the tank and gave it some fresh juice, tried to fire it up but no go checked the spark and it is very weak. So if anyone knows much about this model could and could be any help that would be great

1. Which are the best possible carbs for this engine?
2. I am planing on buying a new ignition should I fork out for the dyna 2000 or is that an overkill and I could get away with just replacing some parts?
3. Should I just strip the bike and repair parts as I go or should I get everything running sweet on the bike before stripping for paint,
4. Does anyone live in SE Qld that has a parts bike or parts laying around for sale?
5. I want to replace the display and headlight anyone know which bike these bits are interchangeable with?

I know I am probably asking some silly questions but we all have to start somewhere and I am smitten with this gpz and just want to rip into it. Will post up pics of bike when I am back at home. Cheers, josh
CATdoctor

Bike: ZX6R
State: Queensland

Re: B1 gpz1100 project

Postby Gosling1 » Mon May 13, 2013 10:04 pm

Hi Josh