Ninja 650 mid range surge

For general Technical and Performance Discussions

Postby Shilouette » Wed Apr 16, 2014 9:44 pm

Pretty new to this road bike thing, although competent, I'm no expert. I've recently brought a 2010 ninja 650. This is a Lams approved bike, to which it has a shunt in the wiring harness to prevent full mapping of the ECU and a throttle stop screw, which has been removed prior to me purchasing the bike. The shunt in the harness under the seat is still in place. The only other modification that I can see is a Leo Vince slip on. Most of my commuting is around town, and I'm finding in 2nd and 3rd gears the bike has a tendency to hunt/ surge at the nice usable range of 3000 to 3800 rpm. Bike has only done 3000klms and is in pristine condition. I've changed oil and filter because bike sat for 2 years unused. Apart from this annoying surge....I love the thing...could it be the fuel map shunt needs to be removed? Could it be the slip on over scavenging at certain rpms. Or is it just the nature of the beast? I've also gone so far as to check chain tension and all appears well. Any ideas? Thanks.
Shilouette

Bike: Ninja 650
State: Victoria

Re: Ninja 650 mid range surge

Postby dilligaf » Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:28 am

I had a nonlams ER6 and never ran it much below 4000rpm. Are you using 91 or 95 ron petrol. Mine went better on 91.
ECU stuff is probably for mechanics and dealers. Where are you based? There are a few good mechanics around.
That is why God made fast motorcycles, Bubba.... Hunter S. Thompson.
dilligaf
KSRC Contributor
KSRC Contributor

Bike: Z900

Postby Shilouette » Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:04 pm